It is currently Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:14 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 5:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:31 am
Posts: 81
I'm running an ofab cvh in my mk2. Its starts 1st press of the button when cold or when its been sat for just a minute or 2 or for over half an hour.

If it sits for 5-10 mins it will just turn over at normal cranking speed and won't even attempt to fire.

If it sits for 15-20 mins it will fire on maybe 3 cylinders after a few cranks then misfire for a minute or 2 till it clears its throat.

I'm in my last hour of my nightshift and have been pondering this @#@#@# annoying problem.

The only thing I can think is leaky injectors that are slowly seeping while the rail is under pressure. Then after a while they stop seeping and it all evaporates?

What do you guys think?

I do have a spare inlet I could pipe up and prime the system to see if anything comes out of the nozzles?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:34 am
Posts: 4622
I'd be looking at the water temp sensor, it sounds like it might be applying enrichment when its not needed and/or visa versa.

All I will say is; make sure you only change one thing at a time when fault finding or you can get into a right mess.

_________________
Image
One day I'll be an old man and nobody's going to want to hear stories about sensible decisions and wise investments.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 2:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:31 am
Posts: 81
Aye, learnt that lesson years ago. It was, woohoo I've fixed it....... But which of these spares was the culprit?? Haha

Will try that, I have a couple of spare manifolds so will try and get the sensors out

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:31 am
Posts: 81
Why do the sensors have to be 25mm spanner! The one I don't have!

Is there a way of testing the sensor with a multi Meyer? Different resistances at different temperatures or something?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:53 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Uxbridge
Would of thought you could do a resistance check on it.

_________________
http://youtu.be/RQ7DOZQA-yg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:31 am
Posts: 81
Well, after getting so pissed off with it and putting the engine up for sale I put another set of plugs in (brand new ones were in) and it runs like a dream!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group