It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 4:43 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:22 am 

......Am I destined to be driving the only standard mk2 in the next 10 years?

Don't get me wrong, I'm all for a bit of speed and have in the past modded many a car with bigger carbs and exhausts etc, I'm also all for trying to improve or replace ageing engines etc BUT I recently joined a couple of Facebook Fezza groups and most of the posts on there are about 17 and 18 year old kids who have dropped a 2ltr Zetec in their Fez and are whinging about how their insurance is well over 2 grand a year, surely they should just buy a standard car and run it for a few years to get their no claims bonus up before doing any modding, especially if they are going to the extremes of slotting a much bigger engine in (I can understand the CVH route as it's a standard Ford factory fitment), I suppose I'm fairly lucky as I drive a lorry for a living and I'm nearly touching 50, so speed to me isn't the most important thing, I'm just finding a clean standard car with a nice set of alloys on it does the trick for me these days........Oh and space in the back for my zimmer frame and tartan blanket :lol:

Pete

MK2 1.1 auto Ghia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:35 am 

I hope quite a few standard ones remain but I'm as guilty as anyone for modifying them. I really like the looks of the Mk2 but I don't like the way it drives as standard, especially the base models without the anti roll bar. I haven't bought one and not had it in bits within minutes of getting it home, and it's not all about the power, one of the ones I own now has a 1.4 Zetec SE in it, more about updating it to a standard of modern equipment that I can live with.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:09 am 

I'm guilty of modifying mine, it's main focus will be my track bitch though which looks pretty standard from the outside 8) :lol:

I kept my first car standard for a year and a bit before i touched it :cool!: