It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:44 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Thermostat housing
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:13 pm
Posts: 738
Location: North East, England
Hi,
I am using a housing from a silver top with 2 threaded sensors and it has cracked, the only replacements I can find don't have threads for the sensors just push fit with a clip to hold them in place.
I have a spare housing from an the st170 but that has a blank in the bottom sensor hole, can I get a sensor to fit that hole or do I have to make a take off for my gauge sensor elsewhere?

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermostat housing
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:17 pm 
Offline
Badboy Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 9:15 pm
Posts: 6984
Alloy or plastic?

_________________
Image

Follow me on Twitter @Stardeluxe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermostat housing
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 11:04 pm
Posts: 22069
Location: Manchester
I suspect it'll be Plastic.
Newer ones dont have half of the take-offs in them.
Alloy ones were well spec'd but rare.
I've only ever seen two in the flesh.

Jason.

_________________
Image
Image
http://www.RetroFiesta.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermostat housing
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:30 pm 
Offline
Badboy Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 9:15 pm
Posts: 6984
There are 2 on eBay at £100 each! Yikes.

You can always use the CVH housing if needed - but you'll need to get an adapter:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=117361

_________________
Image

Follow me on Twitter @Stardeluxe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermostat housing
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 11:04 pm
Posts: 22069
Location: Manchester
The CVH one doesn't have the bypass valve though.
:(

Jason.

_________________
Image
Image
http://www.RetroFiesta.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermostat housing
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:13 pm
Posts: 738
Location: North East, England
Ive fitted the st170 housing that came with the engine and put a sensor in the top radiator hose for my clocks temp gauge.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group